What is return on ad spend (ROAS)? | Adjust (2024)

Do you know what ROAS is? Learn everything about ROAS, including the differences between ROAS and ROI and how to measure ROAS.

What is return on ad spend (ROAS)? | Adjust (1)

Glossary What is return on ad spend (ROAS)?

The definition of ROAS

Return on ad spend (ROAS) is an important key performance indicator (KPI) in online and mobile marketing. It refers to the amount of revenue that is earned for every dollar spent on a campaign. Based on the return on investment (ROI) principle, it shows the profit achieved for each advertising expense and can be measured both on a high level and on a more granular basis. Whether you want to measure ROAS for an entire marketing strategy or look at performance at the campaign, targeting, or ad level, it’s a key metric for measuring and determining strategic success in mobile advertising.

How to calculate return on ad spend (ROAS)

ROAS can be calculated with a simple formula:

ROAS = (revenue attributable to ads / cost of ads) x 100

Think about it this way: Let’s say you’re running an ad campaign that you invest $1000 into, and you are able to attribute $3000 in revenue to those ads. Using the ROAS formula, you can determine an ROAS of 3, which is a very good result.

Calculating ROAS becomes a little bit more complicated when determining what the cost of ads is, and there are a couple of decisions to be made. Firstly, you need to determine whether you want to track the dollar amount spent on a specific platform, or if you want to bundle extra advertising costs in. For example:

  • Vendor costs: Vendors you work with will most likely take commission fees for running the ad campaign.

  • Team costs: You need to pay a person to set-up and manage the campaigns, whether they’re in-house or at an agency.

The way you define ‘cost of ads’ in your ROAS calculation will depend on the type of campaign you’re running. Sometimes it’s most effective to work solely with the exact ad costs, and then create a separate ROAS that incorporates all collateral ad expenditure. This way you’ll have visibility on the overall performance and profitability of every campaign for which ROAS is a KPI.

What is the difference between ROAS and ROI?

As covered above, ROAS refers to return on ad spend, while ROI refers to return on investment. When calculating an ROI, you’re looking at measuring the return on a particular investment relative to what the cost of that investment was. It’s a calculation of your net profit and the investment, with a formula that generally looks like this:

ROI = (Net profit / net investment) x 100

While similar but not the same, ROAS aims to help advertisers and marketers determine the overall efficiency of online or mobile marketing campaigns by calculating the exact amount of money that is earnt from a campaign relative to the exact amount of money that was invested into it. One important takeaway is that a negative ROI can still be a positive ROAS, because your overall investment might be higher than the profit generated, but relative to the investment in the advertising campaigns themselves (depending on how you calculate that), the ROAS itself can be positive.

Should I use ROI or ROAS?

When creating a campaign or marketing strategy, ROI vs. ROAS is not an either/or decision. ROIs are best leveraged to help gain visibility over long-term profitability, and ROAS might be more helpful in optimizing for short-term or very specific strategies. When building out a high-level mobile marketing campaign or strategy, utilizing both ROI and ROAS formulas is a best practice. Within mobile marketing, ROI and ROAS are both crucial metrics for marketers and advertisers to work with. Whereas ROI can be applied high-level to measure overall profits, ROAS will help you determine how much a campaign is contributing to those overall profits.

How is ROAS used in mobile marketing?

ROAS is most useful in mobile marketing when you’ve scaled to the point that you’re tracking multiple campaigns, channels, and ad platforms, and need oversight over which are the most effective and should continue receiving budget allocation. We covered above that ROAS can be applied at various levels and with varying degrees of granularity. So you might like to calculate ROAS on your overall ad spend, and then calculate by channel, campaign, and platform to determine your best performing channels, or where the highest level of profitability is likely to come from.

We recommend calculating a minimum ROAS before launching any campaign, so that you can identify whether performance is at an acceptable level or not as quickly as possible. Determining what this minimum is is somewhat more complex, and will depend on your app type, vertical, and the growth stage that it's at, but it's also something that can remain flexible as profit margins and business expenses adapt.

ROAS can also be combined with other important metrics and KPIs typical to mobile marketing. PPC metrics like cost per click (CPC), cost per acquisition (CPA), and cost per lead (CLP) can all be complemented by ROAS to help paint a complete and clear picture for advertisers when determining how to hit targets.

Adjust provides clients with granular data and insights from all campaigns, accessible in a single dashboard that gives marketers and advertisers a clear overview of performance on all levels, including ROAS.

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What is return on ad spend (ROAS)? | Adjust (2024)

FAQs

What is return on ad spend (ROAS)? | Adjust? ›

Return on ad spend (ROAS) is an important key performance indicator (KPI) in online and mobile marketing. It refers to the amount of revenue that is earned for every dollar spent on a campaign.

What is return on ad spend roas? ›

Glossary of terms. Return on Ad Spend (ROAS) is a marketing metric that measures revenue earned for each dollar you spend on advertising. By calculating and tracking ROAS, you gain insights on the effectiveness of your advertising.

What is roas return on ad spend coursera? ›

ROAS, which stands for Return on Ad Spend, is a key metric in digital marketing that measures the revenue generated by a business in relation to the amount of money it invests in an advertising campaign. ROAS gauges how effective an advertising campaign is at converting customers and driving revenue.

What is a good roas for ads? ›

eCommerce: 4+ is generally solid, and anything higher than this would be considered high performance. Retail: An ROAS of 3 is the industry benchmark here, though this can also vary based on the market, brand, and product being considered.

What is the ROI on ads spend? ›

Return On Investment (ROI) for ads is calculated by taking the profit generated from an ad campaign (measured in revenue) and dividing it by the total cost of the ad campaign.

How do you calculate spend from roas? ›

The ROAS formula

The Return on Ad Spend formula is as follows: ROAS = 100 * total ad revenue / total ad spend . If you can't measure the direct sales revenue, you can use this formula instead: ROAS = number of ad conversions * average number of sales conversion * average sales price – total ad spend .

Why is roas so good? ›

Meanwhile, ROAS does more than calculate potential profitability—it helps identify campaigns that are generating sales. To analyze the overall campaign performance, it is best to combine ROAS with cost per lead (CPL) or cost per acquisition (CPA) goals, as these take into account traffic and lead quality.

What is a good return on ad spend on Facebook? ›

What is a good ROAS for Facebook? Although the benchmark varies according to industry, type of business, etc., an average ROAS of 3X or more is generally considered "good". This means that every dollar spent on advertising generates three in revenue.

What is a bad roas? ›

This gives you an idea of how much bang for your buck you are getting for your advertising budget. A positive ROAS means that a campaign is making more money than it is spending. A negative ROAS means a campaign is losing more money than it is gaining in revenue.

What is the average return on ads spend? ›

A good average ROAS is considered to be around 3:1 or 4:1, or a 300% or 400% return on ad investment. However, ads that run on the Google platform might generate three or four times that ROAS.

What is a strong return on ad spend? ›

Significance of ROAS: A high ROAS signifies a strong return on advertising investment, indicating efficient and profitable campaigns. Conversely, a low ROAS suggests your campaigns are less effective in generating revenue relative to their cost.

What is a good ROI for ads? ›

The rule of thumb for marketing ROI is typically a 5:1 ratio, with exceptional ROI being considered at around a 10:1 ratio. Anything below a 2:1 ratio is considered not profitable, as the costs to produce and distribute goods/services often mean organizations will break even with their spend and returns.

How much is a good ad spend? ›

You should spend 2–5% of your sales revenue on marketing.

But we should clarify that our 5% rule applies to most years, not all, and covers most of your marketing, but not all. There will be times when you have to spend more to get what you want and need, but those are special projects. Let us explain!

What is a good return on an ad spend number? ›

An acceptable ROAS is influenced by profit margins, operating expenses, and the overall health of the business. While there's no "right" answer, a common ROAS benchmark is a 4:1 ratio — $4 revenue to $1 in ad spend.

Why would you track a product's return on ad spend (Roas)? ›

Return on Advertising Spend (ROAS) is a marketing metric that measures a specific ad campaign and how it has impacted revenue. Tracking ROAS can inform whether digital marketing campaigns are working effectively or if there is room for optimization.

What does a roas of 1.5 mean? ›

Your ROAS will be $1.5. In other words, you earn $1.5 for every $1 you spend on advertising — a $0.5 profit. ROAS helps you measure the effectiveness of your ad campaigns and lets you identify the best ad networks, ad groups, and advertising methods.

What is a good return on Google ad spend? ›

So, what is a good ROAS for Google Ads? Anything above 400% — or a 4:1 return. In some cases, businesses may aim even higher than 400%.

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